Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
yoga after back surgery
suebill74 posted:
I had a lumbar microdiscectomy on L5 S1 on May 31, 2012, a second one done on June 6, 2013 (on the same location of my lower back) then on July 29, 2013 I had an anterior cervical discectomy and fusion on C4-5 & C5-6. My neck seems to be doing pretty good pain wise. My lower back is still giving me some pain and discomfort, when it does I take a pain pill and lay down till pain subsidizes. My question is can I start doing yoga to help strengthen my back and to overall feel better?

davedsel responded:
Hello and welcome.

I have never had surgery but have done a great deal of research regarding spinal conditions and treatments. Also, I am not a doctor nor are any of us in the support community.

From what I understand, it is probably too early for you to considering any type of regular exercise routine. I am not at all familiar with yoga, but believe it involves stretching. Your best source would be your surgeon - call and ask if you can do yoga and exactly what are your restrictions.

Others who have had surgery will eventually reply and share their experiences.
Click on my username or avatar picture to read my story.

Blessings,

-Dave

suebill74 replied to davedsel's response:
thanks davedsel for responding, I'm just impatient, wanna get back to being active, body says no, mind says yes, lol, you know how it is!!

bj1208 responded:
hi suebill74 - welcome to the support group -

don't be impatient~~~ PLEASE~~~ Do as your doc has instructed.

I had Anterior Lumbar Fusion L5-S1 2/08 - I fused 100% and have healed very well. For some reason fusions in the lower back tend to take longer to recover from and there is a higher percentage that pains will continue and/or may get worse.

You can click on my name or pic and read my story.