Skip to content
loss of strength in right arm and atrophy in right tricep
An_258106 posted:
I am a coach and was conducting a basketball practice the other day and went to shoot the basketball and couldn't get the ball even halfway to the basket. Recently I had either a pinched nerve or muscle pull in my upper right back that lasted for about three weeks. During this time with the pinched nerve, I would often get numbness down my right arm. I especially felt this at night when I was trying to fall asleep.

After my recent experience where I couldn't get the ball to the basket I noticed that there was atrophy in my right tricep. I am wondering if this was caused by my pinched nerve or muscle pull in my right upper back. Should I be concerned about this sudden loss of strength and atrophy in my right tricep? What can I do to regain strength in my tricep and right arm? The good news is that the pinched nerve pain has pretty much gone away. I hope I haven't done any permanent damage to my right tricep.

trs1960 responded:
First, what or whom do you coach? My daughter will be a senior in high school and has played soccer and basketball for at least half of her life. Thank you for all the time you put in helping others!

Ok, sudden atrophy is a reason for concern. If I were you and I had my choice I would see an orthopedic physiatrist. They're trained to look at the underlying cause and find a solution. Many general practitioners mean well, but tend to treat the effect and not the cause. This masks the cause and in the end makes things worse.

If you go to an orthopedic surgeon he/she may just determine if there is a surgical solution and either decide to cut on you prematurely or send you on your way...neither one being the best solution.

A neurologist may be an alternate solution.

Now that I've said that I'll throw out the caveat that there are exceptions to every rule.

Best of luck and keep us posted,

Tim

philroiko replied to trs1960's response: