Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Announcements

Visit our Crisis Assistance Link for resources. For immediate help, get to the ER.

*No Dr Outside Contact Please*
applying for S.S. disability
shania09 posted:
I have never done this before, so I need some advice. They want to know whether or not my pdoc would say I couldn't work. What would be the conditions for something like that? Why couldn't someone work? What info do they want? I haven't worked in 2 yrs. Any other info ya'll can give me will be greatly appreciated !!
Just be yourself............Everyone else is already taken.  

The biggest mistake you can make is being afraid to make one...
FirstPrevious12NextLast

ddnos responded:
Social security defines disability as inability to engage in what they call Substantial Gainful Employment (SGA) because of physical or mental reasons that has lasted or is expected to last for a continuous period of not less than 12 months. What they define as SGA is, "We use the term "substantial gainful activity" to describe a level of work activity and earnings.
Work is "substantial" if it involves doing significant physical or mental activities or a combination of both. For work activity to be substantial, it does not need to be performed on a full-time basis. Work activity performed on a part-time basis may also be substantial gainful activity.
"Gainful" work activity is:
  • Work performed for pay or profit; or

• Work of a nature generally performed for pay or profit; or
  • Work intended for profit, whether or not a profit is realized.
To read more, go to www.ssa.gov and click on disability