Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Announcements

Visit our Crisis Assistance Link for resources. For immediate help, get to the ER.

*No Dr Outside Contact Please*
bipolar and lieing/bipolar and sex
Anon_228565 posted:
hello im new to all of this and still have many questions about it 2 of my biggest qusetions involve lieing and sex. first off ive just recently been diagnosed with the disorder and 2 of my major problems at this point are lieing...it seems like every other word out of my mouth is a lie and the other 1 is constantly trying to gain the attention of other women...this has caused me alot of problems and i need some advice can anybody help me????

Wooster2 responded:
  • **** TRIGGER POST *****
    Hi, Anon.

Hmmm. Lying is a problem most of us have to deal with, whether it is our own or someone else's. Have you tried to catch yourself before you tell a lie? Maybe if you resolve to stop lying and tell yourself, "Before I say anything, I will ask myself, 'Is this the truth as far as it is necessary to tell it?'" You don't of course have to tell the truth all the time. If one of your friends asks you what you think of her poetry, and it is terrible, you of course aren't required to tell her how bad you think it is. You don't have to lie and praise it to the skies either. (Immanuel Kant, on the other hand, argued that we are obligated to tell the truth all the time no matter what might happen. I subscribe to a more commonsensical approach.)

I have not had much of a problem with my telling lies, by which I mean I have not found myself telling many lies. I lied to a classmate in the last year about why I was late getting somewhere to meet him, but I eventually apologized. Maybe it was only because I thought he knew the truth, but I still apologized. I wonder if I did the right thing.