Skip to content

Announcements

Visit our Crisis Assistance Link for resources. For immediate help, get to the ER.

*No Dr Outside Contact Please*
Suicidal
neutralino posted:
[TRIGGER] Hi there! I'm 48, have been bipolar since the age of 17. I used to be a research scientist (particle physics and lately neuroscience), but managed to completely destroy my life and I have been unemployed for the last 4 years. If I don't find a job, I'll also be homeless when my mother dies. No hubby (divorced), no kids (chose not to reproduce myself) and — guess what — no friends.

I take my medications as prescribed. Lithium 600 mg, quetiapine 200 mg, topiramate 200 mg: manias in check. Moclobemide 900 mg and bupropion 300 mg: depression unabated; the devil has become medication-resistant. (Note: Other combinations have no effect either. A course of 12 ECTs two and a half years ago produced spectacular results that lasted precisely two months.)

For the last few weeks, all I can think of is suicide. All day, every day. I surf in search of the lethal doses of various meds and then check and recheck the numbers. Can't wait for the big day. But I have to wait while my mother is still around; she has already lost one daughter. The suffering is horrible. I can see my psychiatrist as often as I want, I love him and he loves me very much, but once I leave his office I'm all alone again. I'll be his first patient to commit suicide and I hate to do that to him, but I hate myself a lot more.

Recipes for a miracle, anybody?

lexismom11 responded: