Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Announcements

Visit our Crisis Assistance Link for resources. For immediate help, get to the ER.

*No Dr Outside Contact Please*
Help
LiviaC posted:
When I was younger I noticed a change in my attitude, way of thinking, and actions. I began researching bipolar disorder around 11th/12th grade of high school(I'm in my 4th year of college now). I never tried to go see a doctor about this because I know my family would never let me(they don't believe anything is ever wrong with me) I was hoping that I could get some feed back from someone who actually has the disorder. Maybe if you guys feedback helps me, I could be able to seek some help. If anyone is willing I can describe some of the things I've been going through so you can get a better idea. Thanks in advance.

bpcookie responded:
Hello Livia, Its nice to meet you. Since your an adult you can now see what ever Dr. you want. You don't have to tell your family anything. When you get diagnosed then you can share the info. with your family, if thats what you want to do.

Of course you may post your symptoms here and we can give you our opinions but we can't diagnose you, only a Dr. can do that.
You may go through life hearing a 1000 NO's but don't give up because your YES is out there waiting for you.- (Something my father told me.)

lexismom11 responded:
Even if your family doesn't believe anything is wrong, they are not you. They can't tell you whether or not you can see a doctor. Are you still under your parents' insurance? If this is the case, you can still see a doctor without your parents consent.

You know yourself better than anyone else. If you believe something may be wrong, then it's worth checking out. A Doctor is the best person to talk to in order to get diagnosed. Feel free to discuss what is going on with you here. We can give opinions, but remember to see a doctor.

LiviaC replied to lexismom11's response: