Skip to content

Announcements

Visit our Crisis Assistance Link for resources. For immediate help, get to the ER.

*No Dr Outside Contact Please*
Hypersensitive, Overwhelmed
afchavez posted:
Hey all, I'm new to the community and thought I might ask this here, see if anyone has answers.

I'm eighteen years old, and according to my mother my bipolar disorder has been a problem for me since I was a small child, but my memory is very dissociative and spotty, so I couldn't really say. To me it feels like it's only started to get bad in the late stages of puberty, age sixteen onward and so.

Anyway, what I wanted to ask about is my occasional episodes of hypersensitivity to stimuli - is this caused by bipolar disorder? I can't be certain, because I might still have lingering bits of PTSD cropping up after a trauma I went through at age twelve. I thought all the therapy and soul-searching had helped me process that crap, but I'm no doctor, so I can't tell.

This doesn't happen to me often as long as I stay on my meds. I'm all about multi-tasking; I get restless watching television if I don't have something to write or draw at the same time, and I always have the radio on when I'm driving, etc. It takes a few tasks to fill up my head the right way on a normal day, but when I get into these phases I CANNOT focus on more than one thing at a time. If I'm really into the TV while I'm like this, I won't even hear someone talking to me unless they raise their voice, and then I freak out because of the loud noise. The more there is going on around me, the more wired I get, and when I finally break and yell at everyone to stop I stutter and repeat phrases.