Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Announcements

Visit our Crisis Assistance Link for resources. For immediate help, get to the ER.

*No Dr Outside Contact Please*
Need help...maybe I'm in the right place.
An_249652 posted:
Hello. This is my first time on here.

My wife was just diagnosed with Bipolar and maybe schizophrenia. There is a lot of background building up to this. As a husband, what can I do to help and support while we get treatment and professional care? We have 2 children under 8yrs. Thank you for any aid in this. This is new to me.

An_249652 responded:
We are currently long distance due to other issues. Thank you again for any advice!

slik_kitty responded:
just be there for her. let her know you love her and support her no matter what.

snowyowl33 responded:
Hi An_249652,

Welcome to the Board. Sorry for the late reply, the Boards are quiet over the holidays, but there will be many more ppl back on again after them.

You're situation as a partner can be a tough one, but I commend you on coming here and reaching out for help!

The very best things you can do as a partner is to get both of you as much proper education and knowledge as you can about your wife's disorder(s) learn, learn learn, know them inside out and what options are out there for both of you.

She needs to get set up with a good Psychiatrist(if not already) who's well versed in her illnesses and has a good history of treating them, or at the very least a therapist and a proper medication regime set up that's right for her. Finding the right meds can be a long difficult process for some, but not all.

The next thing is to surround yourself with support. You also need that especially if you have two youngster's to take care of as well. Finding a support group for partner's (ie yourself) is also a very good idea so you have somewhere you can turn to where people understand what you're going through and can offer ideas etc.as well.