Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Announcements

Visit our Crisis Assistance Link for resources. For immediate help, get to the ER.

*No Dr Outside Contact Please*
Includes Expert Content
Phentermine and Bipolar
PAChristine1 posted:
So, I need to lose about 40lbs, and I want to take phentermine. I do exercise, but the problem with my diet is that I am CONSTANTLY munchy. I'll eat something savory, then need something sweet, then want something savory again, and so forth. It's a vicious cycle, and I think phentermine might help me break it.

Here's the thing though... I have bipolar disorder (subtype is debatable). I have never, ever, been truly manic, but on rare occasion (maybe once a year) have a few minor visual hallucinations. I know how to manage these episodes. Otherwise, I have been very, very stable for the past 2.5 years on a regimen of Abilify 15mg and Wellbutrin XL 300mg (and cogentin for akathisia). I feel great.

I'm a working professional, and very responsible in terms of my bipolar management. In all honesty, I really don't think phentermine would be disasterous for me. Even if it did start to cause problems, I would, of course, immediately discontinue and seek out medical attention as necessary.

I know a doc who I know would be willing to Rx it for me if I asked.

I'm just wondering what the WebMD experts recommend.

Thanks!

Joseph F Goldberg, MD responded:
Dear PAChristine1,