Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Announcements

Visit our Crisis Assistance Link for resources. For immediate help, get to the ER.

*No Dr Outside Contact Please*
Fear of meds.
scythianemperor posted:
I was diagnosed with bipolar when I was very young, and by the time I graduated high school I couldn't stand the fatigue and cognitive slowing of the medications. I've been off them for five years and excelled as a student; I'm now in grad school.

Recently, though, I read that allowing bipolar to go unmedicated will result in long-term brain damage and cognitive decline. Plus, to be honest, my success has been less of a result of hard work and more of a natural talent for test-taking. My actual motivation to work is low and, some days, nonexistent; some days, my inability to plan and organize leaves me utterly unable to act; and what's more, I'm beginning to lose the ability to remember what I've read. Still, a brief stint on lamictal and wellbutrin last year only made these things worse, and, to add insult to injury, also killed my libido.

So I'm stuck. I clearly need medication, but I'm afraid of losing my intelligence to it. I'm also very fit and don't want to destroy my metabolism with antipsychotics. What can I do? Can anyone alleviate my anxiety here?

ttsmile responded:
I am not a dr , so I cannot recommend a medication, but there are other meds that don't ruin your weight or put you in a fog. It is trial and error. Talk to your dr about how you feel. Hopefully, they are receptive and can help you.

sandtiger responded:
There are a lot of different medications out there, some that can have mild side effects, disastrous side effects, and/or no side effect at all.

For instance, I take Lamictal and have for ten years - never had a problem with it, besides a mild headache when upping the dose, and killer withdrawals when trying to come off of it (which happened, like, once).