Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Announcements

Visit our Crisis Assistance Link for resources. For immediate help, get to the ER.

*No Dr Outside Contact Please*
Diagnosing Bipolar Disorder
KayleighMJ posted:
I'm hoping someone can give me some advice on some of the symptoms I've been experiencing lately. I am a 21-year-old student (female) with a fairly low-stress life... However, recently I've noticed that I often react inappropriately to my friends and family.

For example, a family member may come into the room and offer me a coffee or do something kind - sometimes when this happens, in my *head* I react with anger and hostility (for no reason at all). At times that has translated into my response to the person as well, but not always.

Another example... My boyfriend was helping me out with a school assignment the other day. Some moments, he would try to help and I would respond with optimism (and thank him kindly). Other times, he would try to offer help and I would react extremely negatively and rudely and argue that he was incorrect (again, for no reason).

In general, I believe I'm a fairly happy person... But my family members have often told me that I can be very bitter at times. Again, I am happy with my life and don't have much to stress over. But now that I've noticed these symptoms, I'm hoping to get some answers and advice about what I might be suffering from or if I am suffering from a mental illness at all.

Please share your thoughts. Thank you.

KayleighMJ responded:
Also... In case this is related in any way:

I have a tendency to be very paranoid. When walking down the street in a busy city, I always have a sneaking suspicion that others walking behind or towards me are going to try to harm me. If I hear footsteps behind me, I'll always check my back and "keep an eye" on the person. I've never experienced anything traumatic that would cause me to be so suspicious of people, so I'm not sure why it happens.

ddnos responded: