Skip to content

Announcements

Visit our Crisis Assistance Link for resources. For immediate help, get to the ER.

*No Dr Outside Contact Please*
Includes Expert Content
Dr G (or others) differences between diagnoses? TRIGGER?
psychkt posted:
Dr G (or others),

Please bear with me as I'm very new to the Bipolar world. I'm getting very confused with all the diagnoses I have been given. The first pdoc said it was unipolar depression after the first 5 minutes he saw me, (3 of which were him on his cell phone talking to his child about a baseball game that night). The next pdoc I saw had input from notes from the Partial Hospital Program i was in at the same clinic and never told me what he thought it was. I found out from my insurance papers he was labeling it Bipolar NOS. Due to transportation issues I had to leave him, and the newest pdoc I'm seeing is very well respected in my community. He started with unipolar depression but then got to see my "fun" cycles and told me possibly cyclothymia,after seeing more cycles he began using the term rapid cycling. He had put me on 450mg of lithium (along with cymbalta, and trazodone for sleep) and things seemed to level off with slight swings. Due to a verbal sparring with a coworker at work in front of my boss, I lost it (crying in the corner for an hour) my pdoc agreed to me taking time off work (since that is a huge stress for me) and I was doing great. I finally saw "me" for the first time in 2 years. As I'm preparing to go back to work after 6weeks off, with new coping skills and some much needed "me time", he said he believes that work may have been the cause of the roller coaster and has tapered me off lithium. Since my return to work is next week I know I'm stressing a bit about it, but my mood has dramatically shifted. I'm so angry (at everyone) I'm cursing them out and just in a B*tchy attitude. Plus all I want is sleep, but my mind won't shut off long enough to get real sleep. Now I've been reading up on BPD and it