Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Announcements

Visit our Crisis Assistance Link for resources. For immediate help, get to the ER.

*No Dr Outside Contact Please*
Includes Expert Content
Bipolar question: Irritable/bitchy...where does it fit? *triggers*
HelpKat posted:
I'm still new to bipolar, still trying to figure things out. I hear a lot of people talking about being b*tchy or being angry and hurting/destroying things. Is this part of bipolar or is this an individual thing?

The reason I ask is my anger has gotten out of control recently. Up until a year or so ago I wasn't this way, but the anger is rediculous now. It comes out of nowhere, its intense, and i feel i have no control over it while its happening. I've been called insubbordinate at work, yelled & screamed at my family, road rage a lot. I just recently broke up with my boyfriend because I didn't want to hurt him. I was afraid I was going to drag him into this mess of anger. I talked to my pdoc whose answer was "have you always been like this?" I said no, "then you don't have to be" but no real answer. I was taken off my lithium a few weeks ago, but my pdoc put me back on it now.

Just needing to understand if/where this fits in. I mean I know the whole depression-mania part, but irritability/anger? Will the lithium help, or is this all me? Dr. G? Anyone? Help!

-Kat

monkeybee responded: