Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Announcements

Visit our Crisis Assistance Link for resources. For immediate help, get to the ER.

*No Dr Outside Contact Please*
Working with bipolar
mhaab1221 posted:
I am new to this discussion group and I am hoping to get some advice or just some perspective. Was diagnosed with Bipolar 2 about 18 months ago and was put on limictal and Cymbalta. My diagnosis came after some manic issues were identified. Had had periodic issues with depression since I was a teen, but they were never life-altering. In mid-July, I began a depressive episode unlike any I have had. Started crying (for no real reason) and couldn't "snap" myself out of it like I had in the past. I am the Deputy Executive Director of a Housing Authority and have a very prestigious job after a quick move up in my career. I was taken out of work for 2 weeks immediately after seeing my psychiatrist because I couldn't stop crying at work. This was both embarrassing and scary. I tried to go back half time in late July but because my meds were increased, all I did was sleep. After dealing with that issue, my psychiatrist started scaling my off of Cymbalta and I am starting Viibryd. The withdraw symptoms were horrible when coming off the Cymbalta. I see my psychiatrist again on Tuesday and we will talk about going back to work. But I can't even imagine going back. I sleep about 14 hours a day. I have gained weight and have only been able to work out about half as much as I did previously. Leaving my house takes so much effort. And I still feel depressed--it's been over 6 weeks. Does this sound like anyone else's experiences? Should I try and go back to work? Could my current depression be more related to the medication changes, or do troughs last this long?

slik_kitty responded:
depression can last for a very long time. you don't mention that you are in therapy. therapy along with the meds will help you turn this around.

mhaab1221 replied to slik_kitty's response: