Skip to content

Announcements

Visit our Crisis Assistance Link for resources. For immediate help, get to the ER.

*No Dr Outside Contact Please*
Includes Expert Content
Question for Dr. G bipolar 1 disorder w/psychotic features
reneegigliotti posted:
Dear Dr. G,

I was diagnosed with bipolar 1 disorder w/psychotic features while in my early 20s. Despites some long intense hospitalizations, I am a medical researcher and hold down a responsible job. My question for you: I had been in a rapid cycling phase for about 6 months and my psychiatrist adjusted all my medication accordingly. I currently take lithium (1125 mg), depakote (1500 mg), seroquel (800 mg), and celexa (very carefully dosed). Now that I'm more stable my psychiatrist would like to reduce the seroquel eventually down to 400 mg and the lithium down to 900 mg. I'm terrified of becoming manic and psychotic again. Not nice things happen and it disrupts my life. He says we can always adjust the doses back up if I become symptomatic. Is there another anti-psychotic you would recommend that he could think about that at a lower dose could be more effective than seroquel? Also, should I be worried about a return of the rapid cycling phase when the lithium is reduced? He likes new ideas. I'll share what you say with him.

Joseph F Goldberg, MD responded: