Skip to content

Announcements

Visit our Crisis Assistance Link for resources. For immediate help, get to the ER.

*No Dr Outside Contact Please*
Relapse
rose20141977 posted:
Hi I am new here and just looking for support, their is no bipolar support groups in my area. I was hospitalized 14 years ago for a severe manic break, I don't remember 2 weeks of my life. I was stable for 10 years. And then things began to happen, first I quit my job which I had for 7 years, (I am a professional or at least I was) then I was hired in the same field to a much, much hire stress job and after a year and 1/2 I had to quit, been unemployed ever since. During the 10 years of stability I was only taking SNRI's and a small dose of anti-anxiety agent. During this time I had to switch psychiatrists because the one I had working with for 10 years retired. That was not helpful, he decided to taper my Effexor and put me on Cymbalta. That did not go well at all. So I went back to the Effexor before he switched me to Cymbalta. Anyway skipping many parts I ended up with no job, and I lost it I was screaming at my husband and 7 y/o dtr for some very trivial things. My doctor is now treating me with lamictal,wellbutrin,lithum and a small dose of Effexor also clonozapam and teretpam(sp) for sleep. I had to call my husband to come home from work, but not until I threatened to call his boss and tell him that I was sick again and he needed to come home. (His boss was very supportive during my hospital stay. I am a rapid-cycler, treatment resistant bipolar 1. I am feeling guilty because my husband has now become my caretaker again, and this time around we have a child and I can be very cruel to her. So basically I was stable and doing well and now I am taking several more medications, unable to control my emotions, extremely depressed and I have lost my career. I know my husband resents me for not being a "normal wife" and I feel horrible about the way I have been treating my dtr. This is my first