Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Diagnosed February 15, 2011
monab53 posted:
This is my first time posting. I have read several of the post and have not found any of the women mention something similar to my diagnosis. If anyone reads this and have experienced the type cancer & treatment I would really like to hear from you.
February 4th I had a lumpectomy. The lump was 1.8cm, and was malignant [invasive ductal carcinoma, stage one, grade 3>. On February 14th I had what they called a partial mastectomy where they removed more tissue from lump location and also took four lymph nodes. My doctor called to tell me that there was cancer cells in one node.
Met with the oncologist this past Monday and she said I have triple negative cancer which is not estrogen or hormone related. Therefore the breast cancer drugs, such as, Herceptin, could not be used. I start my first IV chemo Wednesday, the 16th. I am going to have four treatments of Epirubicyn & cyboxan and then four of Taxol. This will be followed by radiation.
I am extremely nervous about starting chemo so I would appreciate any information.
FirstPrevious12NextLast

judyfams responded:
I'm so sorry to hear about your diagnosis. Your kind of cancer is known as triple negative breast cancer. I too had invasive ductal carcinoma -stage 1, but mine was hormone positive. Had a lumpectomy with 6 nodes removed, one pre-cancerous, had chemo and 33 rounds of external beam radiation. My chemo was 6 rounds of taxotere and cytoxan.