Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Just starting my journey.
tnlady74 posted:
Hello fellow friends. I am new to this game - diagnosed 5 weeks and just finished the modified radical mastectomy---only on the left. I chose to keep the right breast because it was still OK. I had my port installed last week and will begin my 16 weeks with chemo next week. I feel strong and confident that this is only a side journey for me and that I will survive. My doctor told me that he treats many stage 3 and that I can live a long life. I had 7 lymph nodes out of 15, so I will also do the 6 weeks of radiation to get it. Hang in there my sisters. I am encouraged by your stories of strength and power. I am a little worried that I will have to continue to work through my struggle but I know others are like me.

Take the Poll

Is there anyone newly diagnosed and in my position?
  • yes i am newly diagnosed
  • yes, I am working with this diagnosis
vote
View Poll Results

judyfams responded:
So sorry that you are joining us - but you have such a great, strong positive attitude and that will go a long way for you!
The chemo is something you will be able to tolerate since you sound like you will not let it get the better of you! Plan ahead and listen to your body - it's good to keep working during chemo as it gives you a purpose to get up and get out each day.
However - a word of caution - if there is a day(s) when you just can't get up and get to work, please listen to your body and stay home and rest. Do not try to be Super Chemo Lady - you will pay for it later on! Also get help from friends and family with the kids and shopping and laundry and cleaning etc. Better a less pristine house than a sick lady!!!!!!
So take care of yourself, let us know how you are doing and come here often to share, vent, cry and even laugh - we do it all here!
Much good luck to you!
Judy

MBH34351 responded: