Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Terrified Abnormal Mammogram
dguill78 posted:
I found a lump in my left breast and was pretty much reassured that it was fibrocystic changes in my breast. I was sent for a mammogram as a precaution. I guess it has not sunk in that I was right there is a mass now noted and I have to go back for spot compression as explained to me to better see the borders of said mass. I have 3 children the youngest of the 3 is only 2. I am totally freaked out. My family does not help. My fathers family history is not very encouraging. I only have 2 aunts who are deceased from metastatic breast cancer and my grandmother was a survivor who died of a stroke non cancer related but I an terrified and don't know where's to turn. I'm afraid to ask anymore questions once the word mass was used. I had this instant fear. I am a former oncology nurse so the word mass struck fear in me. Am I just overreacting or are my fears normal ?? Help lost in translation !!!

judyfams responded:
You are not overreacting - no matter who you are or what your background is - the idea of being diagnosed with breast cancer is truly terrifying - so what you are feeling is normal.
You need to take some long, deep breaths - in through the nose and out slowly through the mouth!
Please know that 80% of all masses found are benign. Also your "mass" if cancer was found early and early detection is very important. I realize your family history puts you in a higher risk category - but survival rates are good for cancers detected early.
You need to take this one step at a time - there may be more tests required like ultrasound, MRI, and even a biopsy - and the worst part of all that is waiting for the results. So I would strongly recommend that you ask your doctor for anti anxiety meds to help you get through taking and waiting for the results of all these tests.