Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Thermography, a new screening test for breast cancer?
smillsbc posted:
Hi all, I'm a newbie to this site and recently had a yearly mammagram which came back abnormal. I had additional views with a ultrasound which also came back abnormal. The first radiologist said everything was good but the second radiologist said it looked suspicious and scheduled me to have a biopsy. I have delayed the biopsy because of a fear that the biopsy could cause the cancer to spread if indeed I have breast cancer. I recently read about a new noninvasive test called thermography which can spot breast cancer and other cancers before they can be seen on a mammogram or other test. I have decided to have this test first since is only $250 and noninvasive. If it comes back positive for a problem, I will talk to my doctor about the results and take it from there. Has anyone else heard of this?

burberrydebbie responded:
Please, please, please get a biopsy and do not depend on Thermography. After what I considered extensive research I selected to try thermography about 4 years ago and it almost ruined my life. Yes, Thermography is noninvasive, it's very comfortable and if it worked I would take it over a mammogram or biopsy anyday, but you have to stand in a cool room naked while someone takes picture of you. It's just embarrasing. Please consult with your Dr. before considering Thermography - what will he/she do with if you get bad results - that is what my Dr. asked me. And biopsies really are not that bad (thank you vicodin and lidicain) and they are really the only way of knowing if you have cancer . Also, Ask when your results will be ready (I have yet to receive the results of my $500 body scan). And, who will interpret the results (and will they sell you expensive powders and supplements to increase breast health?).

smillsbc replied to burberrydebbie's response: