Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
BONE PAIN FROM ARIMIDEX
jenna291 posted:
As those of us who take this drug know, one of the main side effects is joint and bone pain. Mine can disappear for weeks at a time (I've been taking the drug just over 2 years now) and then return for 4-5 days causing a lot of throbbing pain and trouble sleeping. I just tried something caled "bio-freeze" which is an over the counter roll on gel that is used primarily to treat arthritis, and this seems to offer a bit of relief.
I hope this can offer some relief to some of you.

~ Jenna

vajanie responded:
Hi Jenna, I'm glad to see your post on this subject. I've not checked in for awhile, it seems you have spurts of being on the medical merry-go-round, and then it stops for awhile. I'm still fairly new to Arimidex, been taking it since about April. So far I haven't noticed increased bone pain, but it's hard to differentiate from arthritis when I'm having pain. Did you have the bone pain right away when you started on the drug or is it something that comes on gradually? I'm 68 years old so when I get up in the morning and everything hurts I'm not sure which it is. I try not to take pain relievers because I take so many other drugs. I'm going to get the "bio-freeze" and try it. Thanks for this tip. It's good to know of something that may bring relief without putting another darned pill in your mouth.

One thing I've noticed, or maybe just hadn't paid attention to before is some hair thinning. I know this can happen with Arimidex. I'm kind of horrified that it seems to be mimicking "male pattern baldness". I'd just gotten to love my curly chemo hair and enjoy my new short hair style, which my hairdresser trims every three weeks, to keep it neat. I'd hate to go back to caps. Oh well.

Hope you're well and send you best wishes.

Janie

jenna291 replied to vajanie's response: