Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
After You're Cleared From Breast Cancer...
ms_jsb posted:
04/28/2014 - Good evening. I'm here because I was cleared in March; the surgeon said there was no cancer showing on my one-year biopsy after diagnosis. HOWEVER, a couple of things are going on that someone may be able to address.

[a> First of all, the Anastrozole that my primary put me on is blowing me up like a blimp. She of the same size for more than 30 years... closet full of stuff that recycles in style: too small! I can't take it, never had a weight issue in my life!

So, I figured if I didn't take the Anastrozole every day, it may reverse the effect. But now, I have a soreness on my side, like under the surgeried [is that a word?> breast that wasn't there before. I was taking them every few days, but I've started back to every day, and just move [i.e., exercise> more. As a writer, I'm sitting in front of this laptop most of the time.

Does anyone know about Anastrozole? Is there a substitute for it? It was said that this is the only one for post-menopausal sisters, the other two anti-estrogens are for younger ladies. And the other question I didn't ask - does your breast on which you had surgery feel like it's growing stuff inside of it, then the next day it feels normal? These are the issues that I can't get a straight answer from my primary on, no matter how many e-mails I send her. 'Wait 'til the next appointment.' No, I need to know NOW. Thank you for letting me 'vent,' and I pray someone will know what I'm talking about here. God bless.

atti_editor responded:
Hi ms_jsb,