Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Anyone not pump while at work?
fsuchick1976 posted:
Does anyone not pump at work but still nurse at home? How does it work for you? How is your supply?

I've been out on maternity leave for 3 months (I'm a teacher). I went back to work today and will be working tomorrow. Then, I am off until August. I pumped today, but I didn't get as much as when I pump at home. I got just enough to replace what she drank today. I think it is because I can't relax. I have to pump in my classroom and I am so afraid that someone is going to walk in on me (I locked the door and put up a do not enter sign, but lots of people have keys). I don't mind so much doing it today and tomorrow b/c it is teacher planning days and it is just adults that are on campus. But I just don't think I am going to feel comfortable when the students return. So, I'm afraid that when I return to work in August, I am going to have to put DD2 on formula, it least during the day. I still want to try breastfeeding when I am at home with her. Do you think I will still produce enough during that time?

This makes me sad. With DD1, I was able to pump at work b/c there was an empty office that I could use (and even then I usually only got just enough, plus I was walked in on 3 times). However, that office is no longer available. The other teachers that have recently had babies don't breastfeed, so I can't ask them for advice.

When I go back, DD2 will be 5 1/2 months. I should have enough of a freezer stash to last until she is 6 months. I know I should be happy that she will have breastmilk for the first 6 months, but I wanted to go longer. Ugh. I promised myself I wouldn't stress out about breastfeeding this time around, but I can't help it.
Kim (33) DH (40) DD1 (7/08) DD2 (3/10)

fsuchick1976 responded:
BTW, I live in FL and there are no laws about employers having to provide a place to pump. The only law I can find is about being able to breastfeed in public.