Skip to content
Pumping at work?
kateschuler posted:
My daughter is almost 1 and 1/2 months old and I want to go back to work soon. Do you have rights when It comes to pumping at work or do you have to use break time etc to pump. Also do they have to give you a place to pump?

cjl0510 responded:
Most places are required to have a place for you to pump other than a bathroom. As well as the time to pump, you most likely will have to use break time or lunch time. It depends on the place you work and your supervisor. Hopefully they can make pumping at work a good experience for you! I have been doing it for 9 months, and they have been great so far. I just have to run and pump when there is not much going on for a few minutes. Good luck! Let us know what they say.

iiicrazycats responded:
would call ahead before you plan to go back. call your supervisor and/or human resources office to see what their policies are. in most states, they must provide you with a place to pump (other than a bathroom) and allow you to take the time to do so. now, that's not to say that you won't have to make up the time you take or use paid time off to cover it.

i'm in a laboratory, so in most cases, i can plan my pumping times around the work, which is very convenient.

i'm a State employee, with a great director. he hasn't asked me to use my break time to pump at all. however, it takes me so long to pump (30 min, 3x/day) that i do it anyway. he likened it to the breaks that smokers take...although pointed out that it was far more important.
~Jenn (34)~Chris (35)~Simon (6)~Ravyn (3mos)~

RoxyRaven responded:
I friend from work (who's also breastfeeding now) told me there was a law for breastfeeding women going back to work. My (male) supervisor had no idea about it so she gave him a hard copy of this...

SEC. 4207. REASONABLE BREAK TIME FOR NURSING MOTHERS.
Section 7 of the Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938 (29 U.S.C. 207) is amended by adding at the end the following: