Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Going back to work and baby will not take bottle!
kgemmell posted:
Hi -
I need help! I have tried literally everything for my almost 3 month old to take a bottle. I go back to work in 3 weeks. As of last week, he was taking the occasional bottle whenever needed or I couldn't be around him, but last week he started to refuse. I have a few bouts of mastitis and my doctor suggested weaning. So I started to take one feeding away at a time to help myself dry up and have him take a bottle with 1/2 formula, 1/2 breastmilk. I can't pump at work really - I am a teacher and it is difficult to find time in the day to do so because I am rarely without students. Anyways, I have tried everything from different nipples to cups to sippy cups to pretty much everything the 2 lactation consultants I have talked to have told me (however they have made me feel so guilty about switching over but this is a personal decision and is needed so I really think that is what is best). If I chose to stay home, I would definitely try to continue to breastfeed however this can't be the case. My baby won't take a bottle from my husband, my mom (who will be the caretaker), my in-laws, etc. I have tried leaving the room, not being there, putting him in a different location to eat, bouncer chair, different positions, nursing positions, different house, everything and he will not take a bottle at all. The minute the bottle touches his lips he screams. I have tried waiting til he was purely hungry, trying when he was happy and go lucky playing on his mat, trying everything. I need help and am stressed about going back to work without my baby needing just me to feed. I am concerned that the minute I get home I will literally sit in my chair and feed until I go to bed. I DO enjoy the intimate time with him but with a house and school work to bring home let alone think laundry, dinner, etc. My dr. said if I did continue to breastfeed this is what would happen - he w