Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
First time mom w/ breastfeeding issues
Jhawkchick posted:
So this is my first time posting here since my little girl was born. She'll be two weeks old on Sunday and breastfeeding has been a bit of a struggle. My milk didn't come in until 4 days after she was born and since then my supply hasn't been nearly what I've expected. I went to the lactation center at the hospital where they weighed her before and after feeding to see how much she was getting. The good thing is she gets quite a bit very quickly (generally nurses for only 10 minutes on each side). In the 10 minutes she nursed she got about .6 onces from one side. I've obviously been supplementing with formula but it's a pain trying to nurse every 2 hours, prepare formula, and pump a couple times a day. I keep pumping hoping it'll help increase my supply but so far no luck. I'm open to any suggestions because I know how good it is for her but I really just want to give up. Also, I bought a nice electric double pump so I feel obligated to keep it up so I don't feel like I just wasted a bunch of money.

cutenshort13 responded:
Don't give up! I went through the same thing and now my DD is a nursing champ. I also took feungreek to help my supply get better.

Jhawkchick replied to cutenshort13's response:
Thanks! I'm trying to stay positive. I never knew how challenging breastfeeding really is. I'd heard people complain about their nipples being sore and things like that but I didn't realize it's a lifestyle committment to breastfeed. Overall, I know it's the best thing for my little girl so I'm not giving up yet. Thanks again!!

Sigma3rc74 replied to Jhawkchick's response:
Jhawk - I remember you from the 3rd Tri boards. . . How old is your LO? Mine is almost two weeks and I know what you mean about it being tough to BF every 2 hrs. My LO sometimes cluster feeds several times in an hour . . .