Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Breastfeeding help
myboys79 posted:
Hello,
My name is Angie and I have a 6wk old baby girl. I recognize some of you from the 3rd trimester boards! How is everyone doing?

So far breastfeeding has been going pretty good but the only problem is that my little girl is a very slow eater and I can only get her to eat on one side at a time for about 10 min. She either falls asleep or just refuses the other side. She acts full and always spits up a little bit but then she wants to eat again an hour later! I am exhausted since I'm not getting much sleep at night and I just went back to work this week. Has anyone else experienced this? How can I get her to eat completely on both sides?

Thank you!
Angie

Jhawkchick responded:
Hi Angie! I totally remember you from the 3rd tri boards. How are things going? Glad to hear breastfeeding is going well for you. I'm by no means an expert--I''ve actually been having major issues with breastfeeding myself, but thought I'd chime in nonetheless. My DD does the same thing...it's hard to get her to nurse for 15 minutes Anyway, have you tried pumping and then bottle feeding to get her to take in more at a time? Maybe just in the evenings so you can have a few hours between feedings? That's something my pediatrician actually suggested as a way to help save your sanity. Just a thought... I saw you posted on the first year boards as well, so hopefully you get some other ideas there too. Good luck!

jel0267 responded: