Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Child Cholesterol
Nancygdeg posted:
Hi, I am new in this discussion board. It seems to be very interesting. I am joining it because my 11 year old boy has high cholesterol (231), he is a very active thin boy, but his cholesterol is high since he was 7, (when we detected it). Recently, we found out that he has also low insulin levels, but his sugar level in blood is normal, and we don?t know if all this is connected. So, anything we can learn about this, is going to be very helpful, because we are in an early stage so we think we can do a lot of things to prevent.
So, thank you for you comments
FirstPrevious12NextLast

Oldcarpetcleaner responded:
Nancy this cholesterol problem is in verhment debate amongst health professionals themselves. I would encourage you to seek more then one opinion when dealing with the health of your child.
Your thoughts on prevention for your child, to me, is the very best plan you can have.
If you are offered prescription medicine for your son before commencing ask your doctor for a list of all the known possible side effects of that medication so as you can closely monitor the safety aspects for your son.
Also ask you doctor what the NNT that is the number needed to treat factor and the ARR that is the Absolute Risk Reduction factor. When you have the NNT, the ARR and the list of possible reported side effects you are in a reasonable position to make a decision on risks verse side effects.

Making a health decision for one you love is far harder than making a decision for yourself.

The very best for your sons health.

toneman84084 responded:
Your son does have high cholesterol by the numbers, but much depends on the breakdown. Can you give us the LDL, HDL & TGL numbers as it would help to give you a better answer.