Skip to content
Fighting Cholesterol without Rx's
bostonale posted:
Do MD's ever recommend store-shelf cholesterol products prior to putting someone of prescriptions?

I'm no expert, but how about a ~6 month trial of taking plant sterols, omega-3's etc. -- if this would work it would save patients a lot of money. Diet of course is part of mix as well -- personally, I'm avoiding all those things I loved as a kid.

This is what I'm trying first prior to going on medication. Thoughts?

CandyB32 responded:
My doctor didn't because I had chest pain, they put me on it right away. I was on Zocor for 2 years and developed peripheral neuropathy in my left leg and weakness in my left arm. I now can't move my ankle and foot. This has been since 2004. I have tried three other meds (2 were statin drugs) and had deep muscle pain and problems with my left arm again.

I now use Omega-3 capsules, flush free niacin, watch my diet (limit red meat, saturated fats). I also use Smart Balance margarine which has plant sterols in it. I also eat oatmeal or oat products 5 times a week, exercise more and eat less (so that I am losing the extra lbs that I need to). I have been able to lower my numbers which are now in the high normal range.

The doctor wants to lower it more and have me use another med and I have said no. I will never use cholesterol meds again because of the problems that I had. Everyone else had to make the decision whether to take meds or not. I just wanted to share what happened to me.

1relentless responded:
WOW - I had a horrible experience with Lipitor..both my elbows had scorching pain, I was depressed, felt like I was in a fog....not myself at all! that's the end of taking ANY statins. My doctor agreed. It's the MEDS! Don't think it's just you!

meganrae05 responded: