Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
clomid and cramps
jenay83 posted:
Hi im new to this. I have pcos and i take metiformin. I recently started taking clomid 50mg this month. I finished my last pill last 2 weeks ago. My main question is..is it normal to be nausas and have hot flashes most of the day? Oh and just started today I have cramps on my right side. Its nothing really painful but I'm still concerned. I heard that it could be the follicles growing? My husband and I have been trying to have a baby for 3 years now and I don't want to get my hopes up. It's very frustrating.

mocha85 responded:
clomid&cramps- I also have been on 50mg of Clomid. The first month I was on it I did have hot flashes like crazy. The 2nd month I was on it I did get pregnant, but miscarried at 6weeks. Now on my 3rd round I am pregnant again, this time so far so good- but have experienced slight cramping/tugging on my right side as well. Clomid's side effects are a lot like pregnancy symptoms so it gets confusing. I too have been ttc for almost 3 years now. It is very frustrating...good luck to you and I hope Clomid works for you too!

jenay83 replied to mocha85's response:
Thank you so much for the help! I have a good dr. but she didnt tell me anything about side effects and how emotional i would get I'm still having cramps but I think thats just ovulation

Lojo1021 responded:
Clomid seems to be different for each person and can even vary from cycle to cycle. My first cycle I had really bad bouts of nausea and cramping to the point I had to call out of work but the second cycle wasn't too bad. I did have some mild nausea throughout and the hot flashes were bad. of course it didn't help that we were going through a heat wave at the time!
I started my third cycle on tuesday at 100 mg so we will see what this cycle is like.