Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Includes Expert Content
Head Pressure with Heart Beat in ears
chrissyinc posted:
I've never written on a board before. I'm a 54yr. old female and for the last yr. or so I've noticed that when I bend over or sit in a "slouched" position(or laying position) or just sometimes sitting at the computer I get this head & face pressure with my heartbeat in my ears. Mostly when I stand or get up from the bending or sitting position. Almost like a headrush but worse. I do have panic disorder (for over 30yrs) and I thought it could have manafasted itself like this. But I not anxious when this happens. Yesterday I went to get a massage because I ached. While laying on the table face down it happened. I could hear the music going in and out with my heartbeat and I felt the pressure along with the heartbeats. I had asked my doc. about it when it happened to me while I was doing some gardening and he said it was probably due to the humidity and left it at that. Just today I was having lunch and was reading a book, put the book down and got up to get some water and it came on again, the pressure and the heartbeats. With the pulsing of the heartbeats I almost feel lightheaded and I can feel it in my face. It really has me concerned. I don't want to think I'm nuts, but am I?

Thank you for your input.

Rod Moser, PA, PhD responded:
You may be experiencing some "pulsatile tinnitus". There is a branch of the jugular vein (a large vein that has a pulsation, like an artery) close to the ear. When you change positions, this can change the pressure in your jugular vein, and even the carotid arteries (also located in close proximity), and cause this aberrant sound, and perhaps, even the lightheadedness.