Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Includes Expert Content
Severely painful and swollen tonsil, taking over throat!
CalinCeleste posted:
Let me start out by telling you a little bit about me.

I am a 21 year old female from Illinois. I am taking no medications at all, and never have. I have no medical history to speak of as I have never been sick before. (Seriously. I haven't even had the flu.) Once or twice a year I get a cold and once or twice a year I may also get a pretty bad sore throat. I also have no insurance and I'm a colege student so I am POOR. This means no visit to a doctor at all.

Okay, so I have had an awful sore throat for five days now. Because I get a sore throat almost every year, I don't worry about how long it's been lasting and how severe the pain is. This is common for me. This time is a little different though.

I woke up last Sunday in excrutiating pain. My left tonsil is swollen so large it is pushing my uvula off to the other side of my throat. It is so big that sometimes when trying to swallow liquids, they are pushed up into my nose, if that makes any sense. Sort of the sensation when you laugh while drinking and the liquid comes out of your nose. The tonsil is a little red, but not too much different than its normal color. Multiple lymph nodes on the left side of my neck are swollen as well. Every time I get a cold or sore throat, my lymph nodes swell and are visible beneath the skin, so this isn't uncommon either. I believe my adenoids are swollen as well.