Skip to content
Includes Expert Content
Strep Question
ISWIM posted:
I have been treated for the past three months now for strep. I had it in December, January, and in February. My doctor has given me antibiotics for it each time. I just finished this course this morning. I asked her why I would be getting it every month and if maybe I am not getting rid of it. She said, "Most likely you are getting rid of it, but you are just picking it up again." I work in a school so it is possible, but 3 months straight of getting strep?? My question is if I get strep again should I look into seeing an ENT or just go back to my primary doctor. Also, the rapid strep test came back positive in December, but in January and February it was negative and the 24 hour strep test came back positive in January and February. Any feedback is welcome and I understand you can't do anything without seeing me, but I am just looking for info about what to do next if I get strep again. I am really hoping I don't though.

Rod Moser, PA, PhD responded:
You are very wise to consider the possibility that you are a Strep carrier. The ONLY way to be sure, is to insist on a STREP CULTURE (the rapid tests are not as accurate) at the completion of an appropriate antibiotic course (the correct antibiotic at the correct dose for Strep). If you test NEGATIVE, then you are not a Strep carrier, but are mostly likely becoming re-infected. Perhaps one of your close contacts is a Strep carrier.

If you still have your tonsils (likely), then they may need to come out....this is where Strep loves to live. Another interim solution would be to take a higher dose of anti-Strep antibiotics (like a penicillin injection, followed by oral meds) to see if you can have it eradicated. However, this will not keep you from getting it again....and again....and again.

ISWIM replied to Rod Moser, PA, PhD's response: