Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Includes Expert Content
Ear pressure/pain after running
RunningGirl09 posted:
Hello, I have been running now for about 17 years, and the last 3 or so years I have noticed a feeling of extreme pressure in both my ears towards the end of my run (about 3 miles per day) and after my run. I usually stop running b/c it is quite overwhelming. By the time I get home I usually have like a loud roaring noise in my ears, so loud I literally can't hear anything else, and I am practically deaf until the sound goes away. So I just try not to freak out and hop in the shower to go about my day. However, on the days when the pain is really bad, I get extremely dizzy, and feel like I will pass out if I don't lay down immediately. I will literally dive out of shower sometimes to lay down for fear of passing out in the shower. I have never actually passed out, but the dizziness is intense, Its horrible!!! I just went to an ENT doctor, and he was stumped saying he never heard of this... Which made me nervous since he specializes in ENT diseases/problems, but I have a hearing test scheduled for Monday. I also read some info that high blood pressure may be a factor, however, I'm 26 years old and my BP is 110/60 regularly. Please help with any information or advice. I'd hate to have to stop running, but I am terrified that the roaring/hearing loss will be permanent.
FirstPrevious12NextLast

Rod_Moser_PA_PhD responded:
This is not as uncommon as you think....You may have Exercise-Induced ETD (Eustachian Tube Dysfunction)

Exercise increases blood supply to all parts of the body. Along with this increased proliferation of blood, comes tissue engorgement...this is why your skin becomes red or flushed. When the tissue engorgement is around your eustachian tubes -- those tiny ventilation tubes that run from your middle ear space (the area on the other side of your eardrum) to the back of your throat -- it may cause the tubes to temporarily malfunction.