Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Includes Expert Content
ear tubes
dulsura posted:
Hi im a 47 yrs old woman. a few yrs ago maybe 8 I wad disagnosed with hearing loss. I cannot hear in in crowds, certain words, vowels, in noisy areas, or high pitch very well. I have been using hearing aids since 5 years ago that help very much. However a few months ago i started having a sharp pain in my left ear (which is the ear with the most hearing loss) very sharp pain and a clogging feeling or pressure feeling. i went to my ENT but the pressure was fine however there was mayor swelling so bad that he was unable to see my eardrum. he gave me antibiotics and drops and told me to come back in a week. when i went back he looked at my ear and asked me if i had the same problem in the right and i said no. so he place the tube in my ear. it hurt like heck!!! he apologized and told me for the next he would put me to sleep. well it hurt for days but after the 4rth day it stopped hurting and the swelling was down. however i could not clean my ear etc because it would hurt. its been a few months and i felt better and the pressure was not bothering me nor pain. Now my right ear is hurting, and also the left ear where the tube was placed is staring to feel clogged again. I am wondering why could this happen? i went to my hearing test last week and they told me the tube was still there. But i im feeling a clogging noise again and my right ear is bothering me too. im scared to go back worried about them placing tubes again in both ears this time. I have not been able to use my hearing aids because of this either and it so difficult to hear as it is with the hearing aids and now with the tubes and the clogging and the pain again. I don't understand why im getting this cloggin in my ear and why after so little months of having one placed in. It did help, but im afraid i would have to do this every so often. I had been told by my ENT that he has patients that have new tubes placed every