Skip to content
Includes Expert Content
Lymph Node Questions
TheImpatientPatient posted:
I'm no doctor nor rocket surgeon (wink), but I'm just about positive I have a swollen tonsil or lymph node. I have a few questions that hopefully a professional could answer to give me some insight and ideas what to do.

1. Although smoking is an irritant, does smoking directly impact the lymph nodes and/or tonsils & do they cause inflammation?
  2. Does caffeine also have a direct impact on the inflammation of said glands?
  3. I grind/lock my jaw hard when I sleep...would this in any way affect the glands below my jaw?
  4. Neither Acetaminophen nor Naproxin work, but Asprin takes the pain away for 10 minutes if I take 3 Bayer. Since you don't know my bodily function at all, is there a better home remedy than an NSAID?

TheImpatientPatient responded:
To better understand how I work, I'm a hispanic male, weigh 500 lbs. (haven't been weighed lately), stand at 6 ft. 5in. and smoke menthol cigarettes regularly. If none of that speaks death sentence then I don't know what does lol.

Rod Moser, PA, PhD responded:
Smoking is definitely an irritant. If you do have a reactive node in your neck or tonsillar area, then this could be your main culprit. Caffeine should not cause an issue.
Bruxism (grinding your teeth) can result in inflammation, so this could be contributory.

You are not going to cure a node with acetaminophen, aspirin, or an NSAID. If this node is hard, not movable, tender or not, and is persistent and/or growing, you need to have it examined by a medical provider - usually an ENT. Because you are a smoker, you need to know that this lump is not a sign of anything serious.

Give some serious thought to smoking cessation.

TheImpatientPatient replied to Rod Moser, PA, PhD's response: