Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Includes Expert Content
Is my eardrum REALLY perforated?
ashleyba89 posted:
Hi there, I have never used this site before but I am getting super frustrated with my ears! A little history. I have always had ear problems. Since I was about 12 years old (I am 23 now) I have had a problem with wax buildup in my areas. About every 3-4 months, I have to go to my general doctor and have him syringe the earwax out. It is pretty gross. I usually have big chunks of earwax come out of my ear. I will admit I am bad about sticking q-tips in my ears. About a week and a half ago, while taking a shower, I felt like I had water stuck in my ear. I grabbed a qtip and barely stuck it in my ear, but I think I must have pushed wax into the canal because it felt "clogged." I have been out of town away from my doctor and knew I could not see my doctor for 2-3 weeks and I had a ton to do so I kept trying with the q-tip to get the wax out. It just got worse and worse. I then tried hydrogen peroxide (Which my doctor has told me is safe) in BOTH ears (because the other has felt slightly clogged for a few weeks now) and no change. I decided to go to the Minute Clinic in CVS since I could not see my doctor. This lady BARELY looked in my ears, but said that my left ear had a white substance (which is weird because I have had ZERO drainage..) and diagnoses me as "ottis media with perforation". She gave me cipro ear drops (for 7 days) and a 10 day prescription for ammoxicilin.