Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Includes Expert Content
Surgery or wait?
susanlcolombo posted:
My 5 year old sees a pediatric ENT once a year for a checkup and for any refills on her allergy meds Today when we visited the doctor noticed that her right tonsil is very large I had noticed that it was big a few months ago but thought that it was her allergies acting up again She never complains about it and says it isn't sore Last year her tonsils were at a 1 size Today her right tonsil was at a 4 The ENT is recommending that she have her tonsils and adenoids removed Should I go ahead and sign for the surgery or wait and see if they will resolve?

Rod Moser, PA, PhD responded:
Get a second ENT opinion. Based on what you have shared, there may be no surgical reason to remove the tonsils and adenoids.

claudeviles replied to Rod Moser, PA, PhD's response:
Hey Dr Moser,

First I am sorry that I am posting a Tinnitus question here, but well I am new to the form so I didn't know how to contact you specifically and directly.

Anyways, first a little personal medical history first,
I am from Pakistan, Islamabad and had asthma as a child and then I went to another city( Lahore) in Pakistan( a bigger city from the one in which I lived to pursue my undergrad) it was quiet dusty yet surrounded by wheat fields. Anyways for the past five years that I lived in Lahore, I developed a seasonal allergy that occurred persistently in the month of may-April which is spring time ( sadly I couldn't afford moving away from the city as it was exam time) so in past five years my allergy exacerbated to a point where the last time I had it it, I though would pass out...oh the allergy caused severe congestion in respiratory tract with thick mucus so I took Ventolin inhaler for it, but it got pretty useless. Anyways this was back in first half of 2012 .