Skip to content
Includes Expert Content
my ear hurts when i blow my nose
skigirl360 posted:
Hello! So I had a sinus infection about 2 weeks ago. When I went to the doctors 2 weeks ago I thought I had an ear infection because my ear hurt so bad. My doctor told me that my ear looked fine and that I had a sinus infection that was pushing on my ear making it hurt. She gave me a z-pack and sent me on my way. I was also constantly nauseous and therefore had no appetite which is why i thought it was an ear infection.

since the z-pack my sinus infection symptoms have gone way and i have my appetite back. but every time i blow my nose, even every so lightly my ear (the one i thought i had an ear infection in, the left one) hurts so had that i cry. i have a runny nose b/c i am a daycare teacher...it is a constant state of being for me! and i cant do anything about it. and i am really concerned becuase I am going on a trip the I am flying for in 18 days and I am afraid i am going to be in agony the whole time i am on the plane. or worse that my ear drum is going to explode while i am on the plane or something.

thank you in advance for any help!

Rod_Moser_PA_PhD responded:
You may have Eustachian Tube Dysfunction (ETD) -- not an uncommon event after a bad cold or sinus infection.