Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Includes Expert Content
Pre Cancerous Polyp
An_187346 posted:
I just had a colonoscopy recently and the Doc foound a Precancerous Serrated Adonmatous (sp) polyp that came back from the lab non-malignant. So he wants me to come nack next year and have another colonoscopy which is ok. My question here is do I have cancer in just the early stages or what?

No treatment was prescribed except for another colonoscopy in a year.

Amelia_WebMD_Staff responded:
Hi Anon_38391,

I am not a medical professional, but I do know that non-malignant means not cancerous so that is great! Saying this, polyps can be serious if not checked on regularly.

Here is an article that you should read on the Colorectal Polyps and Cancer. It will help you to understand more about polyps and the possibilities of Colorectal Cancer:

COLORECTAL POLYPS AND CANCER
http://www.webmd.com/colorectal-cancer/guide/colorectal-polyps-cancer

"Although most colorectal polyps never become cancer, virtually all colon and rectal cancers start from these benign growths.
Polyps and colon cancer develop when there are mutations or errors in the genetic code that controls the growth and repair of the cells lining the colon. People may inherit diseases in which the risk of colon polyps and cancer is very high."

Please ask your doctor any questions that you have and make sure that you keep up with your colonoscopies as directed. I hope that this information has helped.
Stay healthy and happy.
Best Wishes! Amelia

DUKE MEDICINE
Hope Uronis, MD, MHS responded: