New to the Discussion
Txgirl63 posted:
Hi...this is my first time posting. I am a 49 yr old female that was diagnosed with rectal cancer back in October last year. My growth was very large and was detected by a physical exam by my doctor. It was so low in the rectum he was able to feel it. I had an anal resection to have it removed and it was diagnosed at a T1. I had no further treatment as they felt they got it all. However, at my six month check up my doctor felt another growth and I had a second anal resection on May 3rd. Unfortunatley, the biospy showed it was cancerous and this time a T2. Now I am schedule to have the big surgery. They are going to completly remove my rectum and try to use part of my colon to reconstruct a "fake" rectum. I will have to have a temporary Ileosotmy (sorry not sure of spelling). Doc said if all goes well it should be reversed in 4-6 months but also advised that it may be longer or even permenate if there are any complications. I am very nervous about this surgery. It's a life changer. I am single with a 14 year old son and my only other living relative is my sister who lives 5 hours away. I am in realitivly good health (other than the cancer) but I am so worried about how I will handle the recovery period. I have read such varying accounts of some who have many setbacks to others who seem to do really well. It's the fear of the unknown that is so hard. Not being able to know for sure even what type of completed surgery I may have until I wake up. I appreciate all of you who post your experiences. It's very helpful for someone like me who really doesn't have anyone to discuss the situation with and who has not any idea what to expect. It's helped me to hope for the best but be prepared for the worst and to know no matter how bad it gets it will be worth it in the long run if I can get this cancer beat! So thank you so much and I would appreciate any advice or information you may have to share.

ike1954 responded: