Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Announcements

This Exchange simulates the original Couples Coping Support Group. It is designed to help persons with concerns in their relationships, family, marriage, seperation, divorce, etc.Offering a wide range of real world, personal experiences, information, knowledge, suggestions, & views from real people.
Keylogging
itssofluffy posted:
I'm about 99% sure my husband put a keylogger on my PC. I had once seen remnants of an installation many years ago that he said he had uninstalled but there have just been too many coincidental things that have happened since then. If he would admit to it, I would forgive him. If I find it myself, I may just leave him for blatantly lying to my face for years and thinking I'm too stupid to figure it out.

I've scanned my computer up and down with every scanner known to man (we're both software engineers by trade). The problem is that he may have written one that no commercial virus software would ever find.

I don't have access to our domain controller or network devices but the last thing that happened was regarding something I typed and deleted so I think it would have to be on my PC for him to trace that. What would you do? He keeps denying it and says he doesn't know what to do to make me trust him. However, if you typed out something very specific to a friend in email and then you deleted it, only to have your husband comment on it the next day, wouldn't that make you feel pretty sure he read it somehow? What if that happened 3 times? Sometimes I feel paranoid but, geez, it seems so obvious to ignore.

I have now installed a well known key scrambler to block what I'm typing in most cases. Not because I have anything to hide, but just to spite him. That is only a small comfort though. We're hardly ever apart since we work together. I don't know when I would be doing something he doesn't approve of!