Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Announcements

This Exchange simulates the original Couples Coping Support Group. It is designed to help persons with concerns in their relationships, family, marriage, seperation, divorce, etc.Offering a wide range of real world, personal experiences, information, knowledge, suggestions, & views from real people.
Round Two
nph106 posted:
Well it is back to counseling tomorrow afternoon. Definitely not looking forward to this. It has been a total rollercoaster couple of days, and I feel like I am going to be a babbling fool the minute I get asked a question. I decided a couple of days ago to do some journaling, just to get rid of some thoughts. Not sure if that is productive, because I end up in a pretty negative place every time. I will have to ask my gal if that is a good idea or not! I have never done this before, and it is much more difficult than I ever imagined. I have had a couple of panic attacks the last couple of days, and that is a new experience for me too. This stinks.

tlkittycat1968 responded:
Personally, I think journaling is a good idea. You get those negative thoughts out of your head instead of keeping them inside and stewing in them.

1nt3rnalc0mbu5t1on responded:
NPH106,

I totally understand what you mean about journaling, but i do agree with TL. Getting those thoughts out is a great thing. I know at first it can put you in a dark place and that can be very rough. Do you share with your therapist what you journal about? Even after a good therapy session i can find myself down, just talking about certain memories can bring you down. But its a process, and feeling angry/mad/upset etc. is part of the process. The biggest thing you can gain from therapy is how to deal/cope with those emotions. They ultimately may never go away, but if you know how to deal with them in a more effective manor that can be a huge advantage.