Skip to content
The more Crohn's stories I read, the more depressed I get
JavaMamma27 posted:
I am still new to this disease. And the more I read, the more depressed I get. This is a horrible, nasty, unfair disease. Is there any winning situation? I go on Facebook, and the stories there are even more discouraging. I see lots of people on biologics- but they stop working after a relative short amount of time. My family seems to think that once I start mine, I'll be up and feeling great in a matter of days and my life will be happy ever after. I would LOVE that to be the case. Has that happened to anyone? I want to go back to the days where asthma was my biggest issue.....

***sigh***

Steph

OyWithThePoodlesAlready responded:
Steph, I know its so frustrating. I do think that more people are doing well than you hear - I think the tendency is to write when we're feeling crappy or anxious. I am feeling overall great ATM (had a hint of a flare this AM but think it'll pass - fingers crossed), but I feel bad sharing that too much when I read how much others are going through. I have a friend w/ moderate - severe crohn's who has managed for 10 years pretty successfully with Imuran, and a friend of a friend is on remicade and does triathlons. Talk about inspiration so it happens, even if you don't hear about it

Try to hang in there, I know the uncertainty can drive me nuts
~Ali

sheba_q replied to OyWithThePoodlesAlready's response:
I second that. I tend to lurk more than post, partly because what am I going to write - that I feel pretty good while most of the messages on here are from people feeling like crap. That can just make people feel even worse, 'cause why isn't it true for them...