Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
(theoretical) biopsy after remicade?
OyWithThePoodlesAlready posted:
Hey guys, I go for remicade this week and I always schedule for next time to be sure to get the early time slot. I kinda have an interesting scheduling dilemma for next time. Part of the issue (really, the planets have aligned this time as far as complications) is that my 6 month mammogram is that month. So far I haven't had to have a biopsy, but last time I was able to schedule it before remicade, thinking they might make me wait for a biopsy if I'd just gotten remicade (and I expect that waiting would be extremely nerve racking).

So... my question is, has any one been told one way or another if there would be concern about a biopsy right after an infusion? I'm going to guess yes bc even my dentist doesn't want to see me right after one but thought maybe someone had experience with it

thanks all
~Ali

jaimem92 responded:
Hey Ali,
I'm actually a mammo tech.. Usually we don't typically do biopsies the same day as the mammogram. Maybe it's different where you're at, but they like to do the mammogram then if it's abnormal do ultrasound and then a biopsy.. Sounds like you've had other issues before too, so maybe they treat your case differently. The doctors taking care of your mammogram might not know about the issues with Remicade, and I don't think I'd want to have a biopsy after my Remicade.. I don't think it'd be very fun to have an infection in your breast. At least the good thing is, if you're having your mammogram every 6 months that means they're just making sure that nothing is changing and that they haven't seen anything that they are super concerned about(there might just be a little mass that they want to make sure isn't getting bigger- could be caused from fibrocystic breasts too)... at least usually anyway.

OyWithThePoodlesAlready replied to jaimem92's response: