Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
prednisone....any help or advice please
lemonie17 posted:
hi. this is my first time here. found the site by accident but hoping you guys can offer some sugggestions please?

i am having a bad flare up of UC, chronic active proctitus apparently. been put on prednisone a six week course, today is my 7th day and i have never felt so bad.
i feel shaky, exhausted, typing this is an effort! if i can just curl up in a corner,not move or speak ill be happy.
is there any way of changing how im feeling?

arbob5 responded:
Prednisone is a good/awful drug, but it does work for so many maladies. UC being one of them. I was on it for about 3-1/2 years, big doses, tapering down to much smaller doses, but it does work for UC. Tapering and getting off of it completely is another thing. But what you are feeling is quite normal as far as side effects go. How high of a dose are you on? Normally a larger does is prescribed to "get it going" to help ease some of the UC symptoms. It does do that too. Has your Dr. said when you will start tapering the dose? I'm sure he/she wants to be sure that it is working for your symptoms before a taper is begun.

All I can say is this will probably help with your UC, but then again, sometimes it doesn't help some people. That's just the way it goes. I'm off of it now, my UC is under control, but I do have my bouts with flares but I do not want to start on prednisone again. I'm also on Lialda, which is mesalamine, which also helps, but it is VERY expensive. The good thing about prednisone is that it is inexpensive.

Your symptoms may edge down somewhat after another week or so, but the shakiness and tension is quite normal. Keep in touch with your doctor and let him/her know about your symptoms and go from there. Remember, hopefully you will be one of the many who has positive results with it.