Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Announcements

Please take some time to click through these links to find out more about our community.

What is a Trigger and When to Trigger a Post
How and Why to Report a Post
Visit our Crisis Assistance Link for resources. For immediate help, call 911 or get to the ER.

new to this
An_253026 posted:
I'm not sure how this all works but Ill introduce myself. I've been fighting depression and suicide for over 14 years. I've been clinically diagnosed 10 years ago and did the therapy and meds. I did therapy for about a year and haven't gone back. My dr still recomends it to me but I really don't see how it helped me. I've been on 7 different depression meds before I found one that works for me. About 2 years ago my dr diognosed me with anxiety as well so now I'm on meds for that too. I've been doing good. I still have my up and down days. The suicidal issues stopped after I had my daughter 8 years ago but I found on my bad days I still feel the need to hurt myself. Not kill myself but I cut just enough to help the pain go away. Haven't told my dr I still do that. I don't want to be sent somewhere or have my daughter taken away. I don't do good with being judged and mentally and emotionally abused which I've noticed happens a lot to me still by the people close to me. Just feel like I have to put up a front and keep all the pain hidden so it won't get questioned. I thought posting on here might help with advise on how to tell my doctor about things. I usually go to my meetings with him and say all is fine when it usually is not. My friends and family have known about my depression but they all think it is better because of meds. I don't feel better and i think they forget or don't care about the depression, which they think is all fine, and that's where I find a lot of my emotional and mental abuse comes from. Don't really know the next step. I hate crying in front of people so i feel that I cant talk about it face to face wi