Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Announcements

Please take some time to click through these links to find out more about our community.

What is a Trigger and When to Trigger a Post
How and Why to Report a Post
Visit our Crisis Assistance Link for resources. For immediate help, call 911 or get to the ER.

Recovering while helping possibly depressed husband
ari119 posted:
Hi! this is my first time posting, but I really need advice.

I´ve suffered depression for most of my life, after trying many meds, I took Zyprexa combined with Wellbutrin, and then just Zyprexa for about 10 years.
3 years ago I finally got off meds, sometimes I take supplements to improve my mood and I was doing better but right now my husband is triggering my depression and anxiety back. For the changes I´ve seen in him I think he has some degree of depression, I talked about it with him about a year ago, but he just attributed it to stress and it sounded right because of what was going on, lately I had noticed his mood getting worse so I talked to him because he´s triggering really bad things for me, but he refuses to go to a Dr., he says he doesn't believe in it.
I´ve come too far in my recovery to not fight this, but I don't know what to do or how to approach it.
Any advice is greatly appreciated.

marie8848 responded:
Hi ari119-I have had depressive episodes in my life for many years. I have found that excessive worry and anxiety triggers depression for me. if it lasts a long time. My significant other has had serious bouts of depression since he was a teenager. It is trying for both of us when we are both going through rough times due one or more situations that we cannot control.
Your husband may be depressed, but if he doesn't believe in seeking help, he is placing much stress on you.