Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Announcements

Please take some time to click through these links to find out more about our community.

What is a Trigger and When to Trigger a Post
How and Why to Report a Post
Visit our Crisis Assistance Link for resources. For immediate help, call 911 or get to the ER.

my depression is ruinin my life
jennycarroll posted:
Hi. I'm new to the whole online support thing but here's my problem. I've been depressed for 10+ years with primary care docs giving me paxil to sufice me. I think it worked for a bit but this last year I've sunken to a new low. I finally saw a shrink who switched me to wellbutrin. It's been a week and i feel no different. My husband just had his foot amputated and we have a 7 year old boy, who i credit fpr me still being here and fighting this. I sleep all day, cry all the time, I'm just a miserable person as my husband would put it. I'm also out of work which doesn't help things. I just keep asking when if ever will i feel normal again. I used to be so happy go lucky and now I'm just hopeless. Amy advice would be appreciated. <3

socalmsg responded:
hi Jenny, thank you for being courageous enough to seek support, even if it is in the virtual world. I read your post and was touched by what you had to share. 10 years is a long time to suffer from depression.I hope that the new medicine helps you to feel better prepared 2 handle the heavy situation you described. I don't know about you, but I wish there was some kind of magic medicine that existed to take away the horrible situations that life sometimes presents us with. If it weren't for difficult problems and situations we would not suffer from depression and feel sad and horribly overburdened. Please do your best to stay strong.I also felt touched by your last comment about when you used to feel happy go lucky. I remember those carefree days as well and oftentimes find myself reminiscing and longing for them. Please know that you are not alone.