Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Announcements

Please take some time to click through these links to find out more about our community.

What is a Trigger and When to Trigger a Post
How and Why to Report a Post
Visit our Crisis Assistance Link for resources. For immediate help, call 911 or get to the ER.

Includes Expert Content
Depression & Exercise
Maema posted:
We hear so much about the benefits of exercise with depression. This begs the question: If a person is diagnosed with depression and taking antidepressants, do you think they're motivated to exercise? I can't seem to get it through my doctor's head that the two just doesn't mix well for me, especially when dealing with a condition that doesn't allow for normal behavior. I've been taking anti depressants for 1 year now and after trying 3 different pills, think I've finally hit on one (Effexor) that helps with the doom, gloom, agony and despair syndrome, as I like to call it. I work in the legal field which takes a great deal of mental ability and stamina so that by the time I'm home, I am just too exhausted to entertain the idea of exercising. Because of this, I have gained an obscene amount of weight. Despite the depression, I eat healthy but because I'm not exercising like I once used to the weight has come on like gang busters. But how does one exercise to combat prescription-induced weight gain? The little exercise I do might keep more weight from adding on but it does not decrease the weight gained. I'm frustrated and feel like I'm losing the battle and destined to be this way until I can come off these pills.

Quriss responded: